Customers Rock!

A blog about customers, their experiences, and how businesses can make sure their customer experiences rock!

Women Bloggers and the W-List

Posted by Becky Carroll on August 9, 2007

megaphone-girl.jpg I was honored recently to be named to the Top 20 PR Power Women, which is a list of women who blog on PR and marketing.  The list was put together by Kami Huyse, who brought to our attention that only a small percentage of  The Power 150 top marketing and PR bloggers are women.

My friend Valeria Maltoni felt that perhaps the reason for so few women in the top lists is that they are as yet undiscovered.  She was inspired to create a W-List to help promote these women bloggers.  This is much like Mack Collier’s Z-List from last year (which, by the way, helped publicize my blog quite a bit).  The Z-list was an effort to bring more attention to blogs which Mack felt weren’t getting their due.  One offshoot of the Z-list was the original W-List put together by Tammy Vitale.  This list was an effort to bring attention to women bloggers as well. 

The New W-List

I am sharing Valeria’s new W-List with you.  Regardless of gender, these are blogs which have quality content and provide new ideas.  As with the Z-list, feel free to pay this forward by adding your favorite female bloggers.  To the new W-list (taken from Lori Magno’s blog), I am adding these ladies:

Stephanie Weaver: Experienceology – Stephanie was one of my adds to the Z-list as well, and she writes a great blog on customer experience.

Maria Palma: CustomersAreAlways – Maria writes about taking care of customers and great customer service.

Tammy Vitale: Women, Art, Life – Since Tammy created the original W-List, I thought she should be on it!  Tammy is an entrepreneur and artist.

Michele Miller: Wonderbranding: Marketing to Women – Michele’s blog focuses on marketing to women and how companies are meeting the needs or missing the mark.

Rosa Say: Managing with Aloha – Rosa is inspired by the values of the Hawaiian Islands, and she weaves them together with business concepts to inspire leaders.

Here is the list with my add-ins inserted in alphabetical order.  Visit a few this weekend and expand your horizons!

The W List – Women Who Write
45 Things Anita Bruzzese

A Girl Must Shop Megan Garnhum
advergirl Leigh Householder
Back in Skinny Jeans Stephanie Quilao
Biz Growth News Krishna De
BlogWrite for CEOs Debbie Weil
Brand Sizzle Anne Simons
Branding & Marketing Chris Brown
Brazen Careerist Penelope Trunk

Cheap Thrills Ryan Barrett
CK’s Blog CK (Christina Kerley)
Communication Overtones Kami Huyse
Conscious Business by Anne Libby
Conversation Agent Valeria Maltoni
Corporate PR Elizabeth Albrycht

CustomersAreAlways Maria Palma
Customers Rock! Becky Carroll
Deborah Schultz Deborah Schultz
Diva Marketing Blog Toby Bloomberg

Dooce Heather Armstrong
Email Marketing Best Practices Tamara Gielen
Escape from Cubicle Nation Pamela Slim
eSoup Sharon Sarmiento

Experienceology Stephanie Weaver
Flooring The Consumer CB Whittemore
Forrester’s Marketing Blog Shar, Charlene, Chloe, Christine Elana, Laura and Lisa
Get Fresh Minds Katie Konrath
Get Shouty Katie Chatfield

Giant Jeans Parlour Anjali
Hey Marci Marci Alboher
Inspired Business Growth Wendy Piersall

J.T. O’Donnell Career Insights J.T. O’Donnell
Kinetic Ideas Wendy Maynard
Learned on Women Andrea Learned

Little Red Suit Tiffany Monhollon
Liz Strauss at Successful Blog Liz Strauss
Lorelle on WordPress Lorelle VanFossen
Manage to Change Ann Michael
Management Craft Lisa Haneberg
Managing with Aloha Rosa Say
Marketing Roadmaps Susan Getgood
Moda di Magno Lori Magno
Modite Rebecca Thorman
Narrative Assets Karen Hegman
Presto Vivace Blog Alice Marshall
Productivity Goal Carolyn Manning
Spare Change Nedra Kline Weinreich
Tech Kitten Trisha Miller
That’s What She Said by Julie Elgar
The Blog Angel aka Claire Raikes
The Brand Dame Lyn Chamberlin
The Copywriting Maven Roberta Rosenberg
The Engaging Brand Anna Farmery
The Origin of Brands Laura Ries
The Podcast Sisters Krishna De, Anna Farmery & Heather Gorringe

Water Cooler Wisdom Alexandra Levit
Wealth Strategy Secrets Money Gym author & Founder Nicola Cairncross
What’s Next Blog B L Ochman
Wiggly Wigglers by Podcast Sister Heather Gorringe
Women, Art, Life Tammy Vitale
Wonderbranding: Marketing to Women Michele Miller
Ypulse Anastasia Goodstein

(Photo by Forgiss)

13 Responses to “Women Bloggers and the W-List”

  1. Rosa Say said

    Aloha Becky, congratulations on your honor as one of the Top 20 PR Women – wow!

    And a warm mahalo too; thank you for including me within your choices here. What a stellar list this is, and I am quite confident it will continue to grow. There are several names here I do not yet know, and I am looking forward to a weekend of great discovery!

  2. Becky:

    Thank you so much for spreading the list and link love! And you played historian, which is great because things in the blogosphere are never lost, sometimes they take a little while to gather steam. Here’s to all the outstanding blogs and authors out there.

  3. Becky, this rocks so much! Great additions, too. Thanks for extending and amplifying the list.

  4. Becky,
    Do you feel that as a percentage of bloggers women are under-represented in rankings and ratings?

    Is it that as a percentage of the overall population women represent a small fraction of bloggers and they need more encouragement?

    If there was a list of only male bloggers would that be a problem?

    I’m just wondering why you focus solely on women bloggers.

  5. thanks for including me in the new “W List”….I have found many wonderful blogs on these lists – the lists are helpful because how in the world else is one to start finding a way to sort through it all! Don’t you just love blogging?

  6. This was the coolest idea…what fun to discover all these incredible blogs and for everyone to reach out to one another.
    Girls ROCK!!!

    Anita Bruzzese
    http://www.45things.com

  7. Hi Becky!

    Thanks so much for including me on this very prestigious list! This is why I love blogging so much – all the great positive energy from all these women ;)

  8. Becky,

    I am a marketer and believe the way to get noticed (and rankings) is to market your products and services, in this case blogs. But, like Roger, I am troubled when we separate people by gender or race.

    The message being sent to me is that in order for women bloggers to be noticed, they must create a special class of people. And that just isn’t true. In fact, I believe it is hurtful and demeaning to women, especially those who are getting noticed. It is certainly disrespectful to us male readers and demeaning of our efforts to write about women bloggers as often as we wrtie about men. I don’t write about women because I think they need my help. I write about them because they said or have something important to say.

    I read as many women writers as men, and women have always done as well if not better than men as novelists, poets, and free-lance writers. Why not as bloggers? Again, I urge women bloggers to market their sites; don’t depend upon a gimmick. It is beneath you. Talent, not gender, should be the focus of marketing bloggers.

  9. Throwing A Bomb at Women

    As long as I am about to venture into territory where no man with any sense should go, I might as well start with a provocative headline. The truth is that I would never throw a bomb at women or me or any group of people. Doing so is against everything…

  10. I am now back from my trip, so let’s catch up on these comments…

    Rosa, your blog is full of aloha spirit; thank you so much for your compliment! It has been great fun to dig into some of these blogs which I was not familiar with as well.

    Valeria, I felt it was important to play historian as this list is not any different from the many lists that spun out of the Z-list. They included the original W-list, the B-list (which was for cyclists), an indie-list for blogs from India, a D-list for dog lovers, and an M-list for the military) – all documented in this post from Mack Collier last January: http://moblogsmoproblems.blogspot.com/2007/01/z-list-continues-to-spread.html. Thanks for starting it up again so we can acquaint ourselves with new (to us) bloggers).

    CB, thanks for commenting; you are always quick to give an encouraging word!

    Roger, thank you very much for your comment. I debated whether to carry this list forward, and I decided to do so because, as stated in the post, “Regardless of gender, these are blogs which have quality content and provide new ideas.” I was happy to do something similar with the Z-list when it started, working with Gavin Heaton and Sharon Sarmiento to visit each blog, describe it with a one-line description, determine location and author, and share the news about it. As I was just heading out for travels, I didn’t have time to do that with this version of the W-list (but it would be a great idea!). I do believe these are worthy blogs, many of which have not yet received their due. I wouldn’t have any problem at all with an all-male list. Thanks again, Roger, for the discussion. It is a healthy one to have!

    Tammy, glad to see you here again. Yes, I find lists helpful as well, as they give us a place to start looking for new blogs.

    Anita, thanks for visiting my blog; nice to see you! I appreciate your support.

    Maria, your positive energy is felt in every post you write. Thanks for keeping it energized!

    Lewis, I didn’t add to this list in order to create a special class or to be disrespectful to you or others that I consider friends. I have met many people in the blogging community since I started my blog, and I have had the pleasure of talking with many of them (including you) by phone. Gender has not mattered to me at all in these conversations. I would have chosen these ladies to add to other lists of good, quality bloggers if asked.

  11. Anne Libby said

    Becky, thanks so much for publishing the list of links.

    I’m having an interesting reaction to the questions of men vs. women bloggers. I spend a lot of time around men in my day job and volunteer work, and enjoy this time and interactions.

    Until being included on this list, I didn’t realize that,since I started blogging, the citizens of the blogosphere who have reached out to me have been 100% women…from commenters on my blog (at least those who have left their names) to Valeria, who added me to the list.

    And until the past week or so, I haven’t given a thought to gender in the world of blogging. This is a thought provoking discussion; thanks for hosting it, and for linking to my blog!

    Be well,

  12. Anne,

    I have been interacting with both men and women since I started blogging several months ago. These interactions have been in email, through blogs, and on the phone in several cases!

    I am just happy to highlight bloggers with great content, be they male or female. :-)

    Thanks for adding to the discussion, Anne.

  13. Anonymous said

    Celebrating Women Bloggers: The W List

    Many thanks to both Liz Strauss and Drew McLellan for adding my name to The W List, a celebration of women bloggers. I found it especially interesting that the announcement of this list coincided with my partner Mike Chapman’s post about the dear…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

