Customers Rock!

A blog about customers, their experiences, and how businesses can make sure their customer experiences rock!

Giving Thanks

Posted by Becky Carroll on November 21, 2007

dscn1715-small.jpg As America gets ready for our annual Thanksgiving holidays, our thoughts turn to what we are thankful for. 

Be thankful for your customers  Without them, you wouldn’t have a business!  Take a minute, right now, and let two or three of your best customers know you are thankful for them (without trying to up-sell or cross-sell them).  You can write a thank-you note (here are some suggestions from Jackie Huba at Church of the Customer).  You can call them.  Just let them know they are important to you!

Be thankful for your employees  Many of them are your company’s face to the customer.  As I mentioned in the story about my Disney World experience, employees who are empowered and who feel great about where they work can turn that into positive experiences for customers.  It will ultimately also help with employee retention (for other thoughts on making a difference from employees, see these ideas from Lori Deschene at BNET).  Let your employees know they matter to you!

Be thankful for your business network  We often meet many, many people and collect many more business cards, but have we stopped and thanked these folks for how they help us?   Valeria Maltoni of Conversation Agent has a great post on how to make the most of your network (hint: don’t do it for what you will get back!).  Let  your contacts know you value their relationship!

I am very thankful for all of you, my Customers Rock! readers.  Without you, I would be talking to myself!  Thank you so much for your support and loyalty.

Now to all my American friends: Happy Thanksgiving!  And to the rest of you, think about what you are thankful for.

Related Posts

Thanking Others (expressing thanks)

Customer Language (using the preferred communication methods of customers)

(Photo taken by me at Disney World, EPCOT at the end of the Test Track attraction.)

4 Responses to “Giving Thanks”

  1. Thank you for the inspiration, Becky. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. No Valeria, thank you! :-)

  3. Brandon said

    Becky, this reminds me of an experiment that I have been trying lately. As a consumer, I thank the person that is providing me the service (or product). I have done this in the checkout line at the grocery store, the sales clerk at the department store and the food service person who is making my sandwich. By looking them in the eye and giving them a smile and genuine thanks, overwhelmingly, I get a smile and an increase in energy from them.

    It costs me nothing and takes 5 seconds, but it helps them and helps me. If anyone else has tried this, I would love to hear the results. Is it just me or does it lend itself to a little burst of cheer (am I just too holiday focused?) :)

  4. [...] by the way, thank you, Becky Carroll, for your awesome blog Customers Rock, with many inspiring ideas. Visit Becky and join in her [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

