Customers Rock!

A blog about customers, their experiences, and how businesses can make sure their customer experiences rock!

Citizen Journalism – Get Your Assignment!

Posted by Becky Carroll on March 14, 2007

last-slide.jpgThere is a project brewing over at Wired.com.  It is actually a collaborative effort between Wired, NewAssignment.net, and anyone else who wants to join in the fun!  The idea is to use crowdsourcing to write an article on, well, crowdsourcing.  The theory is that using a large group of people, whether they be journalists, bloggers, or otherwise, a better story can be written due to the large pool of information which will be brought to the discussion.

The project is called AssignmentZero.  You can read the details here, and here is the blurb describing it from their Newsroom:

Welcome. We’re covering a story: How the Web makes it possible for the crowd to be the source of good ideas. But instead of one journalist reporting, we’ve created a site where many people can work on the story, with editors as guides. You are now in the Newsroom, where you can find an overview and learn what others are doing. The Assignment Desk is where you can see what we’re covering in detail, and get an assignment. The Exchange is a place to offer new ideas. Check the day’s developments with The Scoop. Ready? Join up.

Although I already consider myself a citizen journalist via blogging, I have signed up to participate in this project.  I think it will be fascinating to be part of this initial trial, and I look forward to sharing ideas with a whole new crowd.  For my assignments, ideally I will conduct some interviews, I may do some research, or perhaps through this blog, we will provide some story profile information.  You see, you can contribute as an individual, as part of a group, or even as a blog community.  I think we have some great ideas here at Customers Rock! with a perspective that is all about customers.  That includes crowds!

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think about this idea and whether you decide to join in the fun.  I will keep you posted on my progress!

One Response to “Citizen Journalism – Get Your Assignment!”

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading
    through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it
    and I’ll be book-marking and checking baack frequently!

Leave a Reply

 
