Customers Rock!

A blog about customers, their experiences, and how businesses can make sure their customer experiences rock!

Getting to Know You in San Diego, and Chicago

Posted by Becky Carroll on June 19, 2007

sd-bloggers-061807-small.jpg It finally happened: the San Diego Blogger Meet-up!  I had been trying to get my SD blogging friends together for awhile now so we can meet each other, discuss ideas, and relax.  Tim Jackson (of MasiGuy and Shut Up and Drink the Kool-Aid) was there along with Stephanie Weaver (of Experienceology).  We were missing one of our invitees (Maria Palma of CustomersAreAlways), but we had a great time!  Tim had us in stitches as he told us the sad story of Rainbow Bear (with a happy ending!).  He also brought his camera and had the waitress take a picture of us (Tim is the one in the middle!).  Stephanie, on the left, has just come off her book tour for Creating Great Visitor Experiences, and she was nice enough to give a copy to both of us.

I love putting the people together with their blogs.  I have been doing quite a bit of this lately because the voice-to-voice element is an important one for me.  In fact, Ryan Karpeles (of Living Lightbulbs) was just telling me about that today in his email to me after our great phone conversation (he is based in Chicago).  What a great guy – loads of enthusiasm and good ideas!  It was fun to speak with him, especially as we are so like-minded when it comes to customers.  Ryan, you rock!

SO – to any San Diego bloggers that want to join us next time, send me an email or leave a comment here, and I will put you on the invite list!  And to any bloggers that want to have a voice-to-voice conversation, just ask.  I would love to talk with you!

9 Responses to “Getting to Know You in San Diego, and Chicago”

  1. Man, I need to make it out to San Diego. Someday!

  2. Becky, you rock! 🙂 You have way too many great insights for my brain to handle…I felt like we could’ve gone on for hours (days, even). We’ll have to do it again sometime very soon. And if I ever get this podcasting deal figured out, expect an invite😉

  3. Paul, let us know when you are coming, and we will find a place to meet that has a great sunset view! 🙂

  4. Ryan, I am sure we would have had to stop for sustenance and sleep…

    Thanks for your time. I look forward to the next “meeting”! I will be looking for my invite, too. 😉

  5. I’m envious. You met the MasiGuy. Wow!

  6. Lewis, come on out to San Diego, and you can meet him, too! Or maybe at a future blogger meet-up somewhere in the country (CK?).

    I also found out the bike brand is pronounced MAHZI; I was pronouncing it MAZZY (like jazzy). Sorry, Tim!

  7. Toby said

    Blogger meet-ups are such wonderful fun. Ditto, selfishly I wish San Diego was closer to ATL than CT Lewis. The Masiguy is the ultra in cool.

  8. Becky,
    Thanks for the invite. It was great fun and I look forward to getting together again.

  9. OY! I’m finally out of my catalog copy writing cave! I still have a lot of work to do, but at least the bulk of the work is done. Now it’s proofing all the other details and figuring out the photo needs and finding models to ride the bikes- since I can’t be the only one.

    ANYWAY… it was great to meet you and Stephanie both and I do really look forward to meeting up again and dragging a few new folks along too.

    Paul- Get yer ass out here!
    Lewis- Meeting me and having $5.00 will get you a Latte at Starbucks!
    Toby- As always, you’re too kind.

    Ok, so when’s the next one?

Leave a Reply

 
