Customers Rock!

A blog about customers, their experiences, and how businesses can make sure their customer experiences rock!

How do I Love Thee?

Posted by Becky Carroll on February 14, 2008

hearts-and-hands.jpg Let me count the ways…

Love is in the air today as it is Valentine’s Day in the USA.  Here at Customers Rock!, we think about the ways we let our customers know we care about and appreciate them.  Some of us are not very good at that (or so you have told me), and we need reminders to make it happen.  Consider this your reminder – go out and let your best customers know you appreciate them and their business!

Of course, this act of recognition should be part of your larger customer strategy – you know, the one which outlines how you want to strengthen your customer relationships.  If you are a little short on ideas, go check out today’s post by Toby Bloomberg at Diva Marketing Blog.  Toby has enlisted many of her friends (me included – thanks, Toby!) to share how they build relationships with vendors/clients.  Some common threads seem to be the following:

  • Communicate openly, honestly, and frequently
  • Seek out the needs of the other person – then listen closely and take action!
  • Look for the win-win at all times
  • Build a personal relationship where possible
  • Be willing to give more than you receive; don’t always look for something in return
  • Shut up and listen!
  • Exceed expectations

I would add one more to the list – follow up with customers/clients at times when you aren’t trying to sell anything… like today.

Now go do it!

(Photo credit: Drx)

5 Responses to “How do I Love Thee?”

  1. In the spirit of this post, Becky, you have a great blog, and I love seeing your stuff show up in my RSS reader. And I don’t even want to sell you anything.

  2. And David, I appreciate you very much as a reader of my blog, I really do! Thank you for leaving comments and contributing to the Customers Rock! conversation. 🙂

  3. Toby said

    Becky – Thats for the creating a great recap of the common threads and of course for playing along! Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

  4. As always Becky, thank you for being you.

  5. Toby, thank you for putting it all together! Like I said on your blog, it would make a great ebook.🙂

    Lewis, thank you for appreciating me!

Leave a Reply

 
